Hiked the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu: An unforgettable journey

Celebrating a life achievement with another once-in-a-lifetime achievement.

Vidia Anindhita
13 min readSep 28, 2022
Survived the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu

Peru marked my 30th country to visit in my life, and it was remarkable. I had a life goal to be listed in Forbes 30 Under 30. Just kidding, I was more interested in traveling to 30 countries before I turned 30: Issued my own acknowledgment for 30 (countries) Under 30. Because why not? Life needs to be fun. And this year, I had a chance to accomplish it. Woohoo!

“Go big or go home,” say people who are trying to achieve their goals. So did I. Why didn’t I take a risk and craft an unforgettable journey, a story I could tell?

It was on September 10, 2022, when I sat in an airport lounge and still couldn’t believe I was going to Peru. The past couple of weeks had been crazy for me; from traveling to different places non-stop (yeah, my life was basically in my luggage) until had an accident that resulted in bed-resting. I fell on my scooter and hit my back. The moment I got onto the airplane, I still doubted myself I could do the four days-hike to Machu Picchu. But hey, I only live once, so I’d live my life.

The four days three nights hike.

--

--

Vidia Anindhita

Living on the edge. Designer, random traveler, low-key foodie, coffee enthusiast.